Delete a Repository or View

Security Requirements and Controls

Prerequisites

You are able to both delete and restore Repositories and Views, given that you have the right permissions and that LogScale is configured properly.

Users or tokens who have one of the following privileges or permissions can delete repositories and views:

  • Root users

  • Organization owners (on LogScale Cloud)

  • DeleteAllViews or DeleteAllRepositories organization level permission.

  • DeleteRepositoryOrView permission on the given repository/view.

Deleting a Repository or View

  1. From the Settings tab of a repository, navigate to Danger zone.

    Repository Danger Zone

    Figure 33. Repository Danger Zone


  2. Click Delete repository: a dialog warns you that the repository must have had no ingest for at least 24 hours. If the repository fulfills this condition, you can click Next.

    Delete Repository Dialog

    Figure 34. Delete Repository Dialog


  3. You will be prompted to provide:

    • Repository name is the name of the repository. Required.

    • Audit log message is the reason for deleting the repository. This message will appear in the deletion audit log event. Optional.

    Audit log

    Figure 35. Audit log


  4. Click Delete repository

  5. If restoring repositories and views is possible, you will be redirected to the Deleted repositories and views page under Organization settings. If restoring is not possible, you will be redirected to the home page.

    Deleted Repositories and Views Page

    Figure 36. Deleted Repositories and Views Page


Restoring a Repository or View

If Bucket Storage is configured, the deleted repositories or views will be restorable:

  • For LogScale Cloud: 7 days

  • For Self-hosted installations: 7 days by default, configurable through the DELETE_BACKUP_AFTER_MILLIS variable.

To restore a repository or view:

  1. Navigate to Organization SettingsDeleted repositories and views page. If you don't see this page, restoring is not possible either due to bucket storage not being configured, or due to lacking permissions.

  2. In the table, find the repository/view that you want to restore.

  3. Click the three-dot menu icon on the far right column.

  4. Click Restore

  5. Click Restore repository/view The repository will reappear for everyone who had permissions to view it before its deletion.

Restoring Repositories and Views

Figure 37. Restoring Repositories and Views