The Repository Settings page enables you to configure key settings for your repository. The page is divided into a number of sections:
Users controls user access to the repository
S3 Archiving configures archiving of ingested logs to Amazon S3
Danger Zone enables changing the repository name or deletion
Note that the exact list of available options in this view will depend on the user permissions and repo.
System repos, for example, cannot be deleted and so the Danger Zone will not be shown. The user
Sandbox repo also cannot be deleted, and cannot be configured with multiple users.
The Settings tab, specifically the General section where you may enter some Basic Information on the repository. This description, along with the name of the repository, will appear on the Repositories tab when you first log into the Humio Interface.
When you select a repository, you’re taken directly to the Search tab. If the box for Automatic Search isn’t checked, no search will be run automatically. By checking the box, the default search will be run—which initially will be to show all events for the repository. If there’s a search you want to start by default, you can save it in the Search tab (see Search page). Then you can choose it here from the list under Default Query, as you can see we’ve done in the Figure 1.
The data retention configures when Humio will delete events from the repository. Old data will automatically be removed when any one of the configured limits is reach:
Ingest limit in GB (Uncompressed)—automatically deletes old data when the ingest limit (raw data size) is reached
Storage size limit in GB (Uncompressed)—automatically deletes old data when the stored data, including fields and data expanded or filters during parsing, is reached
Timi limit in days—automatically deletes old data when the event @timestamp passes beyond the configured limit
Repository access can be configured on a per-user basis by explicitly setting user access.
To add a user to this repository, click on the button labeled, + Add…. If you have permissions to do so, you can add yourself to repository by clicking the + Add me.
For more information on user management, see Security.
On this page you can manage the ingest tokens and assigned parsers.
To create an API token:
Click + Add Token.
You will be prompted to provide a token name to identify the token. You may want to use this to identify the token you have assigned to a specific host, data source, log type or other identifier.
You can optionally set an Assigned Parser by selecting a parser from the pop-up list. For more information on parsers see Parsers.
To view the token string for an existing token, click the eye token next to the token name. You can click the copy icon to copy the icon.
To edit a token, click on the vertical dots. You can edit the token, or delete the token. Note that deleting the token will prevent any existing ingest processes using that token to ingest data to Humio. When editing an existing token, you can only modify the assigned parser.
The Block Ingest page enables you to temporarily block ingestions for a short period or time, after which it will be re-enabled. This can be useful in a variety of situations where the level of ingestion and activity are causing performance or reporting problems. If you are using a log shipper, once ingest is enabled they can reconnect and continue sending the logs so that events are not lost.
For more information, see Disabling Ingest.
Humio segments data into indexes called, data sources. They’re created automatically as data is ingested into the repository. You can’t create them in this section of the User Interface. You can only delete them. You might do this if a data source is old and no longer needed and you want to save the space.
Notice in the screenshot shown in Figure 4, it shows that each data space has at least one tag associated with it. Starting in version 1.19 of Humio, you’ll be able to create your own tags and assign them to events. See the Tagging documentation page for more information on tags.
The Danger Zone provides access to two areas of the repository settings which have the potential to modify or alter data:
Repository Name—enables you to change the name. Note that this will change the URL and API calls associated with the repo, and may also affect the queries and automated actions associated with the repo.
Destroy this repository—entirely deletes the repository and all of the data associated with it.