View Settings

The View Settings page enables you to configure key settings for your view. The page is divided into a number of sections:

  • General

  • Access Control

  • Other

    • Danger Zone enables changing the repository name or deletion

  • Packages

    The creation, configuration and installation of Packages is described in the dedicated documentation. which you can find in Packages for more information.

Note that the exact list of available options in this view will depend on the user permissions and view.

Basic Information

Basic Info

Figure 38. Basic Info


The Settings tab, specifically the General section where you may enter some Basic Information on the repository. This description, along with the name of the repository, will appear on the Repositories tab when you first log into the Humio Interface.

When you select a repository, you're taken directly to the Search tab. If the box for Automatic Search isn't checked, no search will be run automatically. By checking the box, the default search will be run — which initially will be to show all events for the repository. If there's a search you want to start by default, you can save it in the Search tab (see Accessing Data in Repositories and Views page). Then you can choose it here from the list under Default Query, as you can see we've done in the Figure 1.

Users

User Settings

Figure 39. User Settings


Repository access can be configured on a per-user basis by adding a user and setting their role for each repo.

To add a user to this repository, click on the Permissions xref under Access Control. You can add users and then you will be prompted to set their role.

For more information on user management, see Security & Authentication.

Danger Zone

Views Danger Zone

Figure 40. Views Danger Zone


The Danger Zone provides access to two areas of the repository settings which have the potential to modify or alter data:

  • View Name — enables you to change the name. Note that this will change the URL and API calls associated with the view, and may also affect the queries and automated actions associated with the view.

  • Destroy this view — entirely deletes the repository and all of the data associated with it.

Packages

The Packages area allows you to install packages, verify the packages which are installed and create a custom package, see the dedicated documentation Packages for more information.