Repository Settings

The Repository Settings page enables you to configure key settings for your repository. The page is divided into a number of sections:

  • General

  • Access Control

  • Ingest

  • Egress

  • Other

    • Danger Zone enables changing the repository name or deleting the repository

  • Packages

    The creation, configuration and installation of Packages is described in the dedicated documentation, which you can find in Packages for more information.

Note that the exact list of available options in this view will depend on the user permissions and repo. System repos, for example, cannot be deleted and so the Danger Zone will not be shown. The user Sandbox repo also cannot be deleted, and cannot be configured with multiple users.

Basic Information

The Settings tab, specifically the General section where you may enter some Basic Information on the repository. This description, along with the name of the repository, will appear on the Repositories tab when you first log into the Humio Interface.

Basic Settings

Figure 35. Basic Settings


  • Repository description is a description of the repository, to update the description type in the field and click Update description.

  • Dataspace type specificies the type of repository, for example a trial repository.

  • Repository usage tag specify a tag for the repository so that repositories can be grouped, to specify or update a tag type the tag ad click Update usage tag.

  • Automatic search specifies if the search should be started automatically when the search page is loaded or not, selected or deselect the checkbox to change the setting.

  • Default query specifies the query which is loaded by default when the search pages is loaded.

Data Retention

The data retention configures when Humio will delete events from the repository. Old data will automatically be removed when any one of the configured limits is reached.

Click Data retention and configure the fields as required,

  • Ingest limit in GB (Uncompressed)

    Automatically deletes old data when the ingest limit (raw data size) is reached.

  • Storage size limit in GB (Uncompressed)

    Automatically deletes old data when the stored data, including fields and data expanded or filters during parsing, is reached.

  • Time limit in days

    Automatically deletes old data when the event @timestamp passes beyond the configured limit.

    The maximum customer configurable limit within Humio Cloud deployments is 365 days. Please contact support if you would like a limit higher than this.

Once you have finished editing click Save.

Users and Groups

Repository access can be configured on a per-user basis by adding a user and setting their role for each repo.

User Permissions

Figure 36. User Permissions


  1. Select a repository from the repositories and views page and click Settings on the menu.

  2. To add a user to this repository, click Permissions under Access Control.

  3. Click the +Add and add users and then you will be prompted to set their role.

For more information on user management, see Security & Authentication.

Ingest Tokens

On this page you can manage the ingest tokens and assigned parsers, for more information on generating, editing and deleting tokens and assigning parsers to tokens see Ingest Tokens.

Ingest Tokens

Figure 37. Ingest Tokens


Block Ingest

The Block Ingest page enables you to temporarily block ingestions for a short period of time, after which it will be re-enabled. This can be useful in a variety of situations where the level of ingestion and activity are causing performance or reporting problems.

For more information, see Disabling Ingestion.

Block Ingest

Figure 38. Block Ingest


Data Sources

Humio segments data into indexes called, data sources which are created automatically as data is ingested into the repository. You can't create them in this section of the User Interface. You can only delete them. You might do this if a data source is old and no longer needed and you want to save the space.

Data Sources

Figure 39. Data Sources


Deleting a Datasource

Click the rubbish bin icon next to the datasource to delete the datasource. This is a permanent deletion.

Datasources can be tagged meaning that you can create your own tags and assign them to events. See the Event Tags documentation page for more information on tags.

Danger Zone

Danger Zone

Figure 40. Danger Zone


The Danger Zone provides access to two areas of the repository settings which have the potential to modify or alter data:

  • Repository Name — enables you to change the name. Note that this will change the URL and API calls associated with the repo, and may also affect the queries and automated actions associated with the repo.

Important

The Destroy this repository option is not available to Cloud users. You must contact support to delete a repository.

Packages

The Packages area allows you to install packages, verify the packages which are installed and create a custom package, see the dedicated documentation Packages for more information.