Delete a Repository or View

You are able to both delete and restore Repositories and Views, given that the user has the right permissions and that Humio is configured properly.

Prerequisites

The following prerequisites are required.

Needed Permissions and Privileges

Users or tokens who have one of the following privileges or permissions can delete repositories and views:

  • Root users

  • Organization owners (on Humio Cloud)

  • DeleteAllViews or DeleteAllRepositories organization level permission

  • DeleteRepositoryOrView view permission on the given repository/view

Configuration

If Bucket Storage is configured, the deleted Repositories and Views will be restorable for some time:

Deleting a Repository

  1. Navigate to the repository's Danger zone.

    Repo Danger Zone

    Figure 62. Repo Danger Zone


  2. A dialog will appear that will let you know that the repository must have had no ingest for at least 24 hours. If that's not the case, you cannot proceed with deleting the repository. If the repository fulfills this condition, you can click Next

    Delete Repository Dialog

    Figure 63. Delete Repository Dialog


  3. You will be prompted to provide:

    • Repository name is the name of the repository. Required.

    • Audit log message is the reason for deleting the repository. This message will appear in the deletion audit log event. Optional.

    Audit log

    Figure 64. Audit log


  4. Click Delete repository

  5. If restoring repositories is possible, you will be redirected to the Deleted repositories and views section under Organization settings. If restoring is not possible, you will be redirected to the home page.

    Deleted Views and Repositories Page

    Figure 65. Deleted Views and Repositories Page


Deleting a View

  1. Navigate to the view's Danger zone.

  2. You will be prompted to provide:

    • View name is the name of the view. Required.

    • Audit log message is the reason for deleting the repository. This message will appear in the deletion audit log event. Optional.

  3. Click Delete repository

  4. If restoring repositories is possible, you will be redirected to the Deleted repositories and views section under Organization settings. If restoring is not possible, you will be redirected to the home page.

Restoring a Repository or View

To restore a repository or view, the Bucket storage has to be configured, and the user needs to have one of the following permissions or roles:

  • Root users

  • Organization owners (on cloud editions)

  1. Navigate to Organization settings --> Deleted repositories and views. If you don't see this page, restoring is not possible either due to Bucket storage not being configured, or due to lacking permissions.

  2. Find the repository/view that you want to restore in the table of deleted repositories and views.

  3. Click on the three dots on the far right column.

  4. Click Restore in the dropdown menu

  5. Click Restore repository/view

Restoring Repositories and Views

Figure 66. Restoring Repositories and Views