Delete a Repository or View

Security Requirements and Controls

You are able to both delete and restore Repositories and Views, given that the user has the right permissions and that LogScale is configured properly.

Prerequisites

The following prerequisites are required.

Needed Permissions and Privileges

Users or tokens who have one of the following privileges or permissions can delete repositories and views:

  • Root users

  • Organization owners (on LogScale Cloud)

  • DeleteAllViews or DeleteAllRepositories organization level permission

  • DeleteRepositoryOrView view permission on the given repository/view

Configuration

If Bucket Storage is configured, the deleted Repositories and Views will be restorable for some time:

  • on LogScale Cloud: 7 days

    for on premise installations, we have 3 different environment variables that control the restorability. We suggest you leave them with their default values, but you can configure them if you want:

    The following rules apply:

Deleting a Repository

  1. Navigate to the repository's Danger zone.

    Repo Danger Zone

    Figure 33. Repo Danger Zone


  2. A dialog will appear that will let you know that the repository must have had no ingest for at least 24 hours. If that's not the case, you cannot proceed with deleting the repository. If the repository fulfills this condition, you can click Next

    Delete Repository Dialog

    Figure 34. Delete Repository Dialog


  3. You will be prompted to provide:

    • Repository name is the name of the repository. Required.

    • Audit log message is the reason for deleting the repository. This message will appear in the deletion audit log event. Optional.

    Audit log

    Figure 35. Audit log


  4. Click Delete repository

  5. If restoring repositories is possible, you will be redirected to the Deleted repositories and views section under Organization settings. If restoring is not possible, you will be redirected to the home page.

    Deleted Views and Repositories Page

    Figure 36. Deleted Views and Repositories Page


Deleting a View

  1. Navigate to the view's Danger zone.

  2. You will be prompted to provide:

    • View name is the name of the view. Required.

    • Audit log message is the reason for deleting the repository. This message will appear in the deletion audit log event. Optional.

  3. Click Delete repository

  4. If restoring repositories is possible, you will be redirected to the Deleted repositories and views section under Organization settings. If restoring is not possible, you will be redirected to the home page.

Restoring a Repository or View

To restore a repository or view, Bucket storage has to be configured, and the user needs to have one of the following permissions or roles:

  • Root users

  • Organization owners (on cloud editions)

  1. Navigate to Organization SettingsDeleted repositories and views. If you don't see this page, restoring is not possible either due to Bucket storage not being configured, or due to lacking permissions.

  2. Find the repository/view that you want to restore in the table of deleted repositories and views.

  3. Click on the three dots on the far right column.

  4. Click Restore in the dropdown menu

  5. Click Restore repository/view

Restoring Repositories and Views

Figure 37. Restoring Repositories and Views