Organization Settings

Figure 1, Account Menu

Once you’ve created an account on Humio Cloud and preferably upgraded to a Humio Pro Account, you may want to make some changes to your Organization Settings. From any screen of the Humio User Interface, click on the menu below your photo or avatar in the top right corner to open the Account Menu menu (see Figure 1 here). Select the Organization Settings, highlighted in the screenshot. When you click on that, you’ll see a screen similar to the one shown in Figure 2 below.

General Settings

Figure 2, Organization Settings

When you registered on Humio Cloud, a new organization was created for you and you were made the owner of that organization. The company name you gave when registering is used for the name of your organization. However, you may change it here, under the General settings for the organization (see Figure 2 here).

In this same section, you can provide some other information that can help us to improve Humio, so that we can better understand what kind of organizations use Humio and for what purposes. Those questions are optional, though.

More importantly, you’ll also notice some questions about the Permission Model your organization will use for others to access your organization’s data. The default is the better choice for many, but you should be aware of how the choice you make here come into effect later, so that you can decide what you want.

Permission Model

As the organization’s owner, you may choose between two permission models for users. By default, your organization is set to Repository-Based Access Control. This means that permissions are set for each repository. With this model, there are three pre-defined types of users, or roles: Member, Administrator and Eliminator. The distinctions of these roles are covered on the Repository-Based documentation page. You might find, though, that being limited to three pre-set roles is too restrictive for your needs.

With the second permission model, called Role-Based Access Control, you can create your own roles, as well as user groups. You would give users access to repositories by making them members of a group that you grant access. This is discussed more on the Role-Based documentation page.

You may pick whichever permission model you prefer and you may change it later. However, if you decide on role-based and create a set of roles and groups, but later change this setting to repository-based, those roles and groups will be deleted. You’ll have to recreate them if you decide to return to a role-based model. You may even have to add the users again for each repository.